Productivity While Creating

Productivity, Time

I‘ve been busy the last few days working on a few video projects for work and thought I’d reflect on a few items that may help you.  First, just because you’re a creative type don’t always feel like you constantly have to reinvent the wheel.  There is always something to be said for consistency – and for the subject at hand as well.  Second, when attempting a project, be sure you have all the pictures, video, titles, etc. at hand before you start.  Make an outline at the beginning, a storyboard even, to map out your strategy.  Mindmapping is helpful as well.  Paint the images in your mind and get as much done ahead of time before you go into editing mode.  Third and perhaps the most important for me and others wishing to save space – save all of your work into one folder that is on your desktop.  As you accumulate other folders for your project, place them in your overall folder.  Then, once you’ve rendered your project, move all of the materials onto DVD(s).  Using a Sharpie, label both copies of your master data files (Note I did say both copies – make a backup DVD) and store them in separate places in the event of some odd catastrophe.

As a side note for those new to Leopard’s OS for Macs – learn to use Spaces.  Editing video can eat up your desktop in a heart beat.  Using Spaces you can have multiple programs working at the same time while you’re waiting for a file to render, etc. 

5 Responses

  1. Be careful labeling your DVDs! Using odd markers or sticker labels can slowly ruin your DVDs and the hard work you expended. Never use a sticker on a DVD! Even the Fellowes company (makers of sticker labels) warns that stickers are not for use with DVDs. use a quality labeling method if you don’t want an unpleasant surprise months down the road. I like using my Dymo DiscPainter to easily put nice, safe labels on my discs. They are full color images with text descriptions. They are also good enough to give to clients if your project requires you to send them a disc.

  2. I have the dymo discpainter and it is perfect for labeling my dvds. I use it for my work and am able to give a professional looking dvd to the clients while not having to go and get the cover done by an outside company.

  3. This dymo discpainter is an amazing printer. I decided to check it out recently and love the quality that it produces for the cd and dvd covers. I recently bought one and use the discus software to import my jpegs on there and get my logo on the cds and dvds. Great for when running out the door and takes no time at all.

  4. I hate the markers and sticky labels…i get so frustrated, but i saw the dymo discpainter in teh stroe and bought it to try it out…i couldn’t be happier with it..finally an easy labeling system thats a no-brainer to figure out and to use

  5. I think that for a creative person being productive is on of the major problems. At least it was for me 🙂
    I have a couple of tricks to stay productive anyways. First of all I make a plan, it should be easy to follow and very clear. Then, I put in Wrike – my project management tool. Then, with Wrike I can see how to measure my time and what should be done first of all. It’s a very simple system, but it works for me. The best thing is – it helps me not to panic when I think about all the stuff that needs to be done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

