Pop-Tart Marketing

Any person with true pride in their alma mater loves seeing their school logo emblazoned anywhere it can go.  Naturally, I fit into this category.

A proud graduate of Missouri along with growing up in Columbia, I have amassed many articles of clothing with Mizzou upon them.  Plus I have a few helmets, more than few prints, a candy dish, a few teddy bears for my girls – OK, you get the picture.  So, when I got home today, you can imagine my surprise when I learned that Pop Tarts helped with my collection.  To commemorate the upcoming start of College Football, the folks at Pop Tarts are now featuring their fine product with various schools imaged upon their frosting.  Hey, if M&M can customize their tasty morsels with your logo, why not the folks at Kellogg’s as well?

Interesting marketing here, in my opinion.  Although the normal target is children and moms, Kellogg entertains a different audience; but then drops the ball.   Kellogg – why not continue marketing this product with an online fantasy football league, college football blog or tickets to a BCS bowl?  Instead, this is what you get when you go to their site.

OK, so not everything at Kellogg’s is perfect.  But their Missouri Tiger Pop Tarts are.  And I can’t seem to eat mine – I just like looking at it…

So, what do you think?  Did Kellogg’s blow it?

5 Responses

  1. That’s pretty amazing. But that doesn’t look like a normal sized pop tart, or you have an abnormally large hand. I don’t know if I’d pay extra for advertising that’s just going to be digested, though. Kellogg didn’t blow it.

  2. Yes, that is an actual sized pop tart believe it or not – alongside my normal sized hand. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Yes!! Mizzou is my favorite college Pop-Tart too!!
    I was so excited when I saw it!

    AND I was also very disappointed when I couldn’t find anything on their website.

    Any clue how they chose the schools to put on them? I was a little surprised but amused to find KU wasn’t included.

  4. Tara – thanks for the comment!

    I can only guess they were looking for Top 25 schools. Perhaps it’s regional? I’m not sure, but I’m just glad that our Tigers were included.

    Who’s KU? Never heard of them….

  5. saw these in the store today here in alabama. but none of the teams were alabama or auburn. i predict these won’t sell here in bama until they are on clearance!

Leave a Reply

